Arlettes

GBBO Challenge Week 2

This was Paul Hollywood’s technical challenge for the bakers and like many of the contestants, I had never heard of these. They are made from puff pastry and so involved a lot of folding the pastry and then chilling it in the fridge, in order to get the layers of butter and pastry right.

Their flavour comes from cinnamon and sugar layered in between the pastry, which appealed to me as I like cinnamon. I never normally bake with real butter (I usually use sunflower spread) so I thought these tasted quite rich. Given the length of time the arlettes took to make, what with chilling the pastry, I probably wouldn’t make these again!

Here’s Paul’s recipe if anyone has, as it says ‘over 2 hours’ of preparation time;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/arlettes_17164

20150814_16533120150814_16535720150814_20385520150814_211953

Leave a Reply

