Apple Brown Betty

Whilst I was in America, I sampled a delicious dessert, make from apples cooked in Bourbon, with crisp buttery crumbs on top. When I mentioned this to my Mum, the response was ‘oh that sounds like apple brown betty’, a recipe her mum used to make. As apples are in season, this seemed like a great thing to bake for pudding.

So I ended up following this recipe by Mary Berry;

http://blog.boden.co.uk/apple-brown-betty-from-mary-betty/

Jpeg
Apples!
Jpeg
Frying the breadcrumbs

I didn’t find I had nearly enough crumb to apple ratio, so made some more crumb. The result was quite tasty, but in my opinion not as tasty as the other traditional apple deserts of crumble or Eve’s pudding. It is, however a quick and cheap pudding to use up leftover bread.

Jpeg
The final product!
One thought on “Apple Brown Betty

Leave a Reply

