Harvest Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies

The company I work for sent me over to work in Charleston, South Carolina for the week! I was surprised how different the food in the US was. They have whole shops dedicated to cupcakes, cookies and doughnuts! Here’s the cupcake shop on King Street, I didn’t go in because I have trouble spending lots of money on individual cupcakes when I know I can make them myself ;).

Capture2

This inspired me to try out some American-style baking.

Here is a delicious recipe I found on Teighan’s Half Baked Harvest blog

http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/harvest-oatmeal-chocolate-chunk-cookies-with-salted-toasted-pepitas/

(which I found a link to via this Buzzfeed article http://www.buzzfeed.com/laurenpaul/29-healthier-versions-of-your-favorite-fall-sweets#.gvK3RW2ma )

The only weird ingredient in these is coconut oil; something I’d never come across before. But I managed to find it in the supermarket and it did give these cookies a noticeable coconut-y taste. These were delicious; the chocolate gives them a really indulgent taste and I would definitely make them again. Because of their oat-y nature, they store really well too.

Jpeg
Ingredients
Jpeg
Coconut Oil
Jpeg
.
Jpeg
.
Jpeg
My favourite ingredient!
Leave a Reply

