Apricot Frangipane Tart

After watching the Great British Bake Off Masterclass during the week, last Saturday I made Mary Berry’s apricot frangipane tart.

This is the recipe;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/apricot_frangipane_tart_19845

Jpeg
The final product

This was pleasingly simple to make and entirely delicious. I’d never made shortcrust pastry before but it turned out well. I wasn’t sure at which point to trim the pastry around the edge of the tin. I’d seen on the GBBO that they cut spare bits off afterwards rather than before blind baking to stop the pastry shrinking back when it was cooked. As I was using a small tin, I opted to trim the pastry after baking but it did look a bit messy.

Jpeg
Spreading the apricot jam

As I was using a tin that was smaller than the recipe said, I had some of both the pastry and filling left over. Instead of letting this go to waste, I made 3 small tarts in a muffin tin.

Jpeg
Leftover pastry

I used tinned apricots because they’re not exactly seasonal at this time of year, which made the decoration even easier. The tart was tested and approved by my best friend Helen, who said it was delicious!

Jpeg
.x.
Leave a Reply

