Yule Log

This yule log was my version of Christmas pudding! I’m not particularly a fan of traditional Christmas pudding, so Mum suggested that I make a yule log instead.

This was the recipe I used, from Sara Buenfeld, except I excluded the optional minty filling she mentions.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/8767/yummy-chocolate-log

I made the mini toadstools using white and red sugarpaste on Christmas Eve, and left them to dry overnight.

The cake component is a fat-less sponge, the making of which was a new technique to me, but worked seamlessly. I filled the Swiss roll with whipped fresh cream and iced with chocolate ganache on Christmas morning. Unlike the image on the original recipe, I also iced the ends of the log with the chocolate ganache as I think it looks more realistic and neater. I used dragged a fork across the icing to produce the bark-like pattern.

Jpeg
Tah Dah!

I was really pleased with how professional this looked and it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

