St Clement’s Whoopie Pies

I thought it was about time to see what all the fuss is about. These orange and lemon creations were my first foray into the land of whoopie pies.

I know chocolate whoopie pies are the most common variant, but instead I decided to make a variation of a lemon whoopie pie recipe I found in my newest recipe book; 500 Delicious delights, published by love food. (It was a gift from my Mum and contains loads of inspiration of things to make). You can get your own copy here.

I decided to adapt the lemon whoopie pie recipe by adding oranges too, because oranges always improve things!

For the biscuits;
250 g plain flour
110 g margarine (plus extra for buttercream)
150 g caster sugar
zest of 1 lemon
zest of 1 orange
1 egg
2 tsp baking powder
100 ml milk

For the filling;
Margarine
Icing sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice
Orange curd
Sprinkles (optional)

Step 1. Cream the sugar and margarine. Add the orange and lemon zest, egg, flour and baking powder and mix well, using an electric hand mixer, if you have one available.

Step 2. Spoon onto baking trays lined with baking parchment as close to circular as can be achieved. I did mine as small circles, to make mini whoopie pies, measuring them out with a melon baller. Obviously size is completely up to you. My mini biscuits required baking for 12-14 mins on Gas Mark 4 and the quantities above made LOTS! Bigger sized biscuits will require a bit longer in the oven.

Step 3. When cooked (I like a nice golden colour on top), remove from the oven and leave to cool on the tray for a few minutes, before moving onto a cooling tray to cool.

Step 4. When completely cooled, sandwich together in pairs, spreading lemon buttercream on one side, a small amount of orange curd on the other pie and then sandwiching together. Decorate with sprinkles if you like sprinkles as much as I do. (The sprinkles do actually add some texture here, so it could almost be argued that they are useful, and not just to make the biscuits look pretty).

Step 5. Enjoy eating!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Orange and lemon whoopie pie tower

Let me know what you reckon of my somewhat British take on a whoopie pie!

Leave a Reply

