Blueberry and Lemon Cupcakes

Blueberry and lemon is a classic flavour pairing which works beautifully in cupcakes. Plus these look so scrumptious without icing that you can whip them up from bowl to plate super quick!

To my good old standard cupcake recipe, I simply added lemon zest and blueberries. This quantity only makes six small cupcakes, so scale it up according to how many you would like.

Ingredients;
1 egg
65 g caster sugar
65 g margarine
75 g self raising flour
Zest of 1 lemon
Blueberries

Step 1. Cream the sugar and margarine

Step 2. Add egg and flour, beat in until mixed.

Step 3. Zest lemon and mix zest into cake mixture.

Step 4. Spoon into cupcake cakes.

Step 5. Push at least 3 blueberries into the top of each cake.

Step 6. Bake! Mine took 19 minutes on gas mark 5, but this will vary according to your oven so make sure you keep an eye on the baking process.

Tah Dah! One batch of summery cupcakes. Best enjoyed in the sunshine (like everything!)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Lemon and blueberry cupcakes

I didn’t bother to ice mine as I thought the blueberries peeking through looked great, but obviously you could go as mad with the decoration as you like. A blue and yellow icing sprinkle theme would be good.

A side note on the use of paper cup cases like those seen in my pictures. I bought them as they look pretty and was keen to see what all the fuss was about. The product had many reviews along the lines of ‘these are rubbish, they just burn in the oven’. They are just cardboard, so this seemed likely to me. I put plain white cupcake cases inside my paper cups to stop and colour spill to the outside. When baking, there was a bit of a burning smell and the cases did come out with slightly browned tops, however they didn’t look that bad! Had I been baking a big batch, I wouldn’t have bothered swapping the slightly burnt cases out for new, pristine ones, but as I was photographing them I did. But overall, the look is worth it!

Leave a Reply

