Heritage Apple & Walnut Muffins (Wheat free)

I’ve called these healthy-ish, because as I’ve said before, muffins are the healthier sister of cupcakes. I visited a local community orchard where they grow heritage apples, and excitingly, I was able to buy some. So not only am I continuing with the seasonal produce theme, the produce in these is also grown just a few miles from my home.

peterley-apples20160924_154601
Apples*

I wanted to bake something with these apples and so this autumn apple and walnut muffin recipe was born. It’s very loosely based on a gingerbread cupcake recipe in the Cake Angels cookbook by Julia Thomas but I’ve changed it a lot. I’ve used wheat free flour but if you are not avoiding wheat I would expect it to work just as well with regular self-raising flour -let me know if you try it!

applewalnut20161001_175520
Heritage apple and walnut muffins

Makes about 12

Ingredients;
300 g wheat-free self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder (make sure it’s gluten free if that’s what you’re going for)
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp ground cinnamon
75 g muscavado sugar
100 g caster sugar
2 eggs
175 ml milk
115 g margarine, melted
50 g chopped walnuts
110 g grated apple**

Equipment;

Muffin tin and paper muffin cases (or big cupcake cases will do)

**You can use any eating variety you wish (not cooking apples as they will disintegrate too much). Excitingly, I used russets which I bought from a local orchard open day (Chorleywood community orchard). I found I only needed two apples to grate to get my 110 g.

applewalnutmuffins20161001_145244

Method;

Step 1. Melt the margarine in a pan on the hob and leave to cool.

Step 2. Weigh out the flour, baking powder, xanthan gum and cinnamon in a bowl. Mix them.

Step 3. Combine the milk, melted margarine, eggs and sugar in a large measuring jug (or bowl). Whisk together with a balloon whisk.

Step 4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and fold in.

Step 4. Grate the apple, then stir in along with the walnuts.

Steps 5. Spoon into cake cases and bake for around 20-25 minutes on Gas Mark 5. This will obviously vary depending on your oven style and temperature.

Step 6. If desired, decorate with a drizzle of water icing.

These are lovely warm straight from the oven, and if they hang around long enough to get stale, pop them in the oven again for a few minutes and they are almost as good as freshly baked.

apple-walnut-muffins-20161001_152358
Heritage apple and walnut muffins before baking
apple-walnut-muffins-20161001_175452
Heritage apple and walnut muffins

*Apple photo taken at Peterley Manor Farm shop which is a lovely place in Buckinghamshire to visit if you live nearby.

 

2 thoughts on “Heritage Apple & Walnut Muffins (Wheat free)

Leave a Reply

