christmas wrapping

Christmas present ideas for the cook or baker in your life

foodie christmas present ideas

I know, this is straying a bit from my usual posts, because there isn’t a recipe in here. Don’t worry, I’ll be back to normal next post but I fear many of you may be too busy to cook anything elaborate at the moment because of Christmas shopping!

Here I’ve gathered some inspiration for anyone who likes cooking, baking or even just eating! Most of the ideas are realistic on a budget too (because we all hate those gift guides that suggest stupidly expensive items for acquaintances!)

Budget

Cookie cutters – You can never have too many!

Icing syringe – I love my Tala icing syringe; it makes icing biscuits in pretty patterns like these Christmas biscuits far easier than faffing around with piping bags.

Iced Christmas biscuits

Tools – One of my friends actually bought me the personalised rolling pin, you can see in the top picture, for Christmas a couple of years ago.

Sprinkles – need I say any more.

Cupcake or muffin cases – you can never have enough, especially nice colourful ones. I particularly like the on trend paper cups I used in my blueberry and lemon cupcakes.

Lemon blueberry cupcakes

Interesting ingredients – Waitrose sell lovely orange curd and other interesting things like pistachio pesto!

Pretty food boxes – for storing those leftovers for lunch the next day.

Midrange

Cookbook – However much somebody is into blogging, nothing beats turning the pages of a cookbook. A cookbook stand could also be useful for someone who often follows recipes from books.

cookbooks

New cookware – a quality frying pan, saucepan or casserole dish may not be the cheapest of presents but is something sure to get used time and time again.

Interesting cake tin – Most keen bakers will have the basic loaf tins and round cake tins, but how about a Madeline tin or an elaborate Bundt tin?

Pretty serving bowl or plate – John Lewis is always a good bet for crockery, I have a massive soft spot for Emma Bridgewater crockery as its British made and gorgeous.

Cake stand or other accessories – If your baker is also a blogger, they’ll be of the opinion they can never have too many baking props.

Professional icing colours – I treated myself to a set of these Wilton concentrated food colours this summer and they really are a revelation compared to the naff watery icing colourings you can buy in the supermarkets.

Luxury

Mixer – I’ll be honest, I didn’t actually realise how expensive these were until I wandered past them in John Lewis the other day, and very quickly kept walking! But I’ll leave the suggestion here just in case your other half has been very very good this year!

Restaurant vouchers – Ideal if the recipient is more of a foodie who loves eating out too.

Course to learn more – Cooking courses are always great fun. Unless you know the person’s abilities inside out though, might be best to go for a voucher and let them chose the actual specifics.

Hope this provides some inspiration! Happy Christmas shopping!

Leave a Reply

